We are located at 3412 Loop 197 North (25th Ave. North), Texas City Texas
What are the hours of operation at the Galveston County Animal Resource Center?
Sunday and Monday – closed to the public.
Tues/Thurs: 12:00 to 6:00 PM
Wed/Fri – 12:00 to 5:00 PM
Saturday - 10:00 to 5:00 PM
What hours do the Animal Control Officers work?
Monday – Saturday: 8:00 am – 5:00 pm. Sundays are emergency calls only.
What if I have an animal emergency after hours?
After hours, please call your local law enforcement
What does it cost to adopt a dog or cat? What services are included for that fee?
Our current United Board of Health approved adoption fee is currently $85.00. That fee includes spay/neuter, rabies vaccination and microchip.
What do I need to adopt a pet?
If you rent, you will need to bring a copy of your current lease that shows you are allowed pets and that you have paid any required pet deposits. You will also need a photo identification card (i.e. driver’s license). You will be asked a few questions to help determine the pet that will fit your family lifestyle. Once the pet is selected, you will be asked to sign an adoption contract and pay all applicable fees.
Do I have to have the pet I adopted sterilized?
Yes, state law requires that any animal adopted from animal shelters in Texas shall be sterilized. In addition, that animal has to be rabies vaccinated, micro chipped or tattooed.
Do I have to register and license my pet?
Yes, pet registration and licensing is required by Galveston County Animal Services Local Regulations and Rabies Control. Please see our home page at arcpets.org and click on the register your pet button for more details.
Do you ship animals out of state?
Have your pets been checked by a veterinarian?
No, we do not have a veterinarian on staff. We advise you to immediately take your adopted pet to your veterinarian to insure that the pet is healthy.
Does the Animal Resource Center provide refunds if the pet I adopted does not work out for me or becomes ill?
No, we do not provide refunds.
Are your pets housebroken?
We do not have background information on most of the pets in our facility; we advise adopters that our pets are not housebroken or trained.
What should I do if my dog or cat bites someone?
You'll have to make a decision about your pet's future. Confinement for 10 days is required by law. You can choose to quarantine the animal either at your vet or at the Animal Resource Center. If you choose not to keep the animal, you can request that we put it to sleep and test for rabies. The options aren't pleasant, but the potential for rabies exposure is serious and you are legally liable. You must make the best decision for your situation.
What happens after I file a bite report?
An Animal Control Officer will inform the owners, if they are not already aware, about the required quarantine, the available options, and the deadline for compliance. If the owners quarantine the animal at a vet clinic, the Animal Control Officer will transport the animal to the clinic and assure that the animal is in quarantine. If the owners request quarantine at the Animal Shelter, we will place the animal in our isolation area for 10 days. If the owners request that we put the animal to sleep, we'll send the animal's body to the State Lab for rabies testing. We notify both the victim and the owner after the confinement period is over or after we receive the rabies test results.
What animals carry rabies?
Dogs, cats, and ferrets should be vaccinated against rabies because they are large enough to survive an attack by a rabid animal, contract rabies, and pose a risk to humans. State law requires all dogs, cats, and ferrets that have bitten or scratched a person to be confined for a 10-day quarantine period to observe the animal for signs of rabies. Bats that bite or scratch a person or domestic animal are of great concern for potential rabies. Use care and protection to contain the bat and call us for guidance if you find a bat inside your home.